Have you created a great MIDI track with a repeating section of notes?
You can get multi-use out of all your work AND make future song development faster by saving that section to the Loop Library. Other sites give you technical instructions... This one offers quick hints. My examples are 2 piano circus beats: (1) a 16-beat section with rather steady beat in A minor and (2) a 16-beat section with 'fancy' grace notes and runs in C major.
EASY LIBRARY BUILDING Hints:
NOTE: When later using loops, plan to copy-and-paste each loop region rather than drag it "loopstyle"... a future blog will describe the advantage. For now, just note that this method is required for odd loops described in Step 1.
1. Loops do NOT have to be 2, 4, or 8 measures as usual. You can build into your loop with a grace note or glissando in the first measure that will slide into an additional 4 measures. THEN when you later import the loop from the library, you just copy-and-paste those introductory odd notes into the last measure before your loop, delete that first measure IN your loop, and slide the loop up against the previous measure.
2. Obviously you would quantize your loop measures before building the actual loop (see earlier hints on making this easier).
3. SAVE YOUR PROJECT before moving on! Step 7 can be "dangerous"!
4. In your original (source) track, split at the beginning of measure you want to create as a loop and and the beginning of the measure AFTER the loop-to-be.
5. Create a DUPLICATE track, and copy the newly split region (the loop-to-be) onto the duplicate track. **Be sure it begins at measure 1.1.1.001 (or whatever your program's name for Project Count 1).
6. Re-join the track you split in Step 4.
.
HINTS you might NOT FIND ELSEWHERE..... and they are really useful.
7. CHANGE YOUR PROJECT KEY to the key of your loop. This is DANGEROUS -- it will change EVERY other track also.... However it's the only way for the Loop Library to record the actual key of your loop. Example: In your project of G major, your loop often will be in E minor (the minor for that key); your loop will save as G major if you skip this Step (7).
8. Check the LENGTH of every MIDI note VISUALLY. Using the Piano Roll view, ensure that NO NOTES OVERLAP into the next note... REASON: (a) Over-long notes: Even if the next note is quantized, it often cannot be heard until the previous note ends. (b) Over-short notes may be what you DO want for staccato (choppy) sound, but check in step 9. (c) Consistent length in a chord: If 2 notes are long, are you getting the full sound you want from the shortest note? OR, if 2 of the 3 notes are short, is the longest note obnoxious? :)
9. Check the LENGTH of every MIDI note by LISTENING to the SOLO track. Can you hear every note you want to hear?
10. Check the Velocity (loudness) of each note by clicking on it and ensuring it is about the same as surrounding notes (unless planned otherwise, of course).
ADDING your region loop to the Loop Library.
Just follow the program's instructions. In Garageband:
1. Highlight the region you want to loop.
2. Go to Edit >Add to Loop Library.
3-A. Type in a name for your loop.... LOOP NAMING HINTS are in another blog.
3-B. Select the Instrument Description. Suggestion: for MIDI drums, use the Kits category so you can always quickly find them at the top level of Kits in the Loop Library.
3-C. IMPORTANT: SET YOUR LOOP TO Scale-Any. That puts it at the top level under your instrument...It will show up whatever your project's key. You might also want Genre-None.
4. Enter your computer password when asked.... and the loop should show up immediately in your loop library, showing the key you selected. It will also show 16 beats for 4 measures, or a time for odd-measures-loops. You don't care about the tempo... that's just a guideline for design, since MIDI notes will adapt to the tempo of any project when you import them.
5. MUTE the loop track if you want to save it for future changes..... like a QUICK change to another key for another loop.
6. CHANGE THE KEY BACK!
7. PLAY your project to check that it's still ok.. and Save if so. If there's any problem, just use File> Revert to Saved Project. And that's it! Another loop for faster song development in the future!
May you absolutely love working to create new music for The World!
©2012 DianaDee Osborne
The purpose of DianaDee Osborne GARAGEBand Hints is simple: Share ideas on how to get the "music in your head" into a recording program like GarageBand, to share with the world... to make *your* life more fun. And to save many $$ in studio fees as you prepare home studio projects to take to a professional studio for final work. Some examples from published DianaDee songs will be provided at times.... No cost, no commitment, no registration input boxes! Just ideas from one musician to others!
Showing posts with label songwriters. Show all posts
Showing posts with label songwriters. Show all posts
Thursday, May 31, 2012
Wednesday, July 27, 2011
ENHANCE TIMING HINT 1, DianaDee GarageBand
The purpose of DianaDee Osborne GARAGEBand Hints is simple:
I had to learn a lot of tricks by trial and error. EVERY one I know who writes music has been very frustrated at times by trying to get the "music in my head" into Garage Band, to share with the world. I'VE LEARNED SOME REALLY EASY TRICKS, and just want to share, in case it makes *your* life more fun as you record your music!
No cost, no commitment, no registration input boxes!
Just ideas from one musician to others!
=================================
ENHANCE TIMING HINT 1 (MIDI tracks only.... the PIANO ROLL screen with "squares")
This feature is in the bottom left corner when you hit the snowflake at the bottom of your GarageBand screen. Why do you want to do this? To make the drum kits hit exactly "on" beat with your music notes (if that's what you want your music to do, of course!). A super-quick method for NON-syncopated music... does not work for jazz and blues, sadly!:
If you can join every region on your MIDI track, this is faster. However you might not want to.... a hint as to why will come soon! For each region on your one MIDI track:
1. Ensure that the signature (like 4/4) is correct so that the measure bars will be in the right places.
2. Select your track.
3. Select the snowflake in the bottom left corner to show the editing music feature.
4. If it's not already showing, press the Score button to show actual music notes. This method works well for Piano Roll.... but not in *this* hint:)
5. Touch your cursor on a single note (it turns green when selected).
6. Go to your top GarageBand menu and select Edit > Select all. (Or type the shortcut apple-a).
7. Every note in the region will now be green. The "Enhance Timing" label now says "Align to". Click on the up-down edge of the bar to change "none" to "1/8 note" or whatever is the smallest (shortest) note in your piece.
8. IF YOU DID NOT JOIN all the regions in your MIDI track, just repeat steps 1-7 for each region.
Now it's time for the more detailed work, but you're already a lot closer to matching whatever drum track you choose. Hints for DETAILED Enhance Timing will be provided in Hint 2. Have Fun with *your* music to the World! Much Music Joy to you!
©2011 DianaDee Osborne.com
Updated Version Reprinted 2 January 2018
I had to learn a lot of tricks by trial and error. EVERY one I know who writes music has been very frustrated at times by trying to get the "music in my head" into Garage Band, to share with the world. I'VE LEARNED SOME REALLY EASY TRICKS, and just want to share, in case it makes *your* life more fun as you record your music!
Some examples from new songs will be provided at times....
They can be found in FREE down-loadable MP3 format (full song)
with FREE matching PDF music files for many of these,
at my website: www.DianaDeeOsborneSongs.com CLICK HERE No cost, no commitment, no registration input boxes!
Just ideas from one musician to others!
=================================
ENHANCE TIMING HINT 1 (MIDI tracks only.... the PIANO ROLL screen with "squares")
This feature is in the bottom left corner when you hit the snowflake at the bottom of your GarageBand screen. Why do you want to do this? To make the drum kits hit exactly "on" beat with your music notes (if that's what you want your music to do, of course!). A super-quick method for NON-syncopated music... does not work for jazz and blues, sadly!:
If you can join every region on your MIDI track, this is faster. However you might not want to.... a hint as to why will come soon! For each region on your one MIDI track:
1. Ensure that the signature (like 4/4) is correct so that the measure bars will be in the right places.
2. Select your track.
3. Select the snowflake in the bottom left corner to show the editing music feature.
4. If it's not already showing, press the Score button to show actual music notes. This method works well for Piano Roll.... but not in *this* hint:)
5. Touch your cursor on a single note (it turns green when selected).
6. Go to your top GarageBand menu and select Edit > Select all. (Or type the shortcut apple-a).
7. Every note in the region will now be green. The "Enhance Timing" label now says "Align to". Click on the up-down edge of the bar to change "none" to "1/8 note" or whatever is the smallest (shortest) note in your piece.
8. IF YOU DID NOT JOIN all the regions in your MIDI track, just repeat steps 1-7 for each region.
Now it's time for the more detailed work, but you're already a lot closer to matching whatever drum track you choose. Hints for DETAILED Enhance Timing will be provided in Hint 2. Have Fun with *your* music to the World! Much Music Joy to you!
©2011 DianaDee Osborne.com
Updated Version Reprinted 2 January 2018
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)