Showing posts with label instrument recording. Show all posts
Showing posts with label instrument recording. Show all posts

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

How to Add the Piano's Sustain Pedal Later

You do NOT have to re-do all your piano work if you recorded a "draft" track by reaching across your computer to the controller keyboard--  not using the "piano" pedal--  and decided you really like what you played.
  1.  Quantize your piano track.  (See earlier blogs for hints; 
                                              I suggest a fast quantize to 1/8th notes if you're in a rush.)
  2.  Go  to another keyboard track ("piano track")-- even one in
       another project -- where the pedal was used.
  3. At Count 1 in any measure, COPY  what looks like a fancy L
      with some dots after it under the SCORE on that track.
            (If the dots extend past the next measure line, find a different Pedal Mark to copy.)
  4. Ensuring that "Snap to Grid" is on,  go to the track you want to
      change, place the playhead (red line) on measure's Count 1,
      and paste.
  5. REPEAT  at the beginning of each measure where you want
      to add the sustain sound.

That's all there is to it! 
A hint I surely wished someone had shared with *me* before I re-played all those draft tracks over the years.... !

Much joy to you finding SHORTCUT  HINTS  for creating new music!
©2013 DianaDee Osborne;  all rights reserved

Friday, September 14, 2012

Quick Fixes for Slight Timing Problems

This Recording Hint reminds me of the Volcano Cake that I made for my child's birthday some years back.... everyone thought the lumps of red frosting on top of the piled up chocolate cake crumbles was a fantastic creative idea. In actuality, the cake fell apart when I took it out of the pan.... Sometimes our greatest creations start with mistakes. So here's a fun idea for fixing one kind:

Most of us have done it... feeling very pleased with a song recording, only to realize several months later that our timing "slipped" in a few places. Especially with vocals, where we focus so much on clearly singing the words (enunciating) that we might not notice that we're a tad off beat.

What to do? Trying to patch vocals later is very hard... must match the mic settings and your tone. Plus there's $$$ issues for recording the fix. It's quite tempting to say "Maybe no one will notice."

But here's a quick fix to try. It did "miracles" for my early 2010 song "Creator Joy" when I planned 3 distinct tempos within the song to match the mood.... but ended up with probably 7 or 8 tempos!

Just add a "flexible" background.... I used a Whirly Piano instrument background track for my song:
1. I doubled the instrument's pre-set reverb setting,
2. plus added more echo. These 2 changes really made the notes ring out long enough to distract from timing issues. Sure, musicians might notice. But the extra track also makes your timing appear intentional!
3. Pull in your FULL song track that you already have, into the project. Solo that track with your new track that you will create.
4. After selecting your background instrument, create the notes to play against the FULL mix. Then the only mixing needed is balancing the new track with the mix you already liked.
5. If your original notes are mid-range, play the flexible instrument at a higher note range. And in reverse, for "contrary motion."  Mid-range and higher usually stays out of the sonic range of existing bass and piano tracks.
6. Save, and Turn OFF "Control -- Snap to Grid".
7. Then play the FULL plus NEW track together with the MIDI track in your Notation view. As you hear new track notes come in a bit sooner or later than the original music, just stop the recording, shift the MIDI note a bit (extending length if needed), and try again.

The hardest part of this hint is that it's so much fun to do that you just might end up needing more time so you can add some other instruments and texture tracks!....
Much joy to you, enjoying even old mistakes for the game they can provide!
©2012 DianaDee Osborne, all rights reserved



Thursday, July 26, 2012

Super-QUICK Preview for GARAGEBand Projects

THIS IS SO COOL!
Have you ever had a really long GARAGEBAND project with so many tracks that it takes a few moments to load even on a super-fast computer?

Here's a fast way to remember what your project sounds like WITHOUT opening the .BAND file or looking for the matching .MP3 (and hoping it hadn't changed since your last file-save):

I have about 230 songs on my websites, and about 80 Draft BAND files for future songs, some with only 2 tracks some with about 10. I couldn't remember if I had added Claxton's scripture reading for Prayer Without Asking MP3 track from his studio's ProTools project to my GarageBand project. But I didn't want to bother loading the BAND file to check.

So I decided to see if Quick Look shows the picture like GB's iLIFE preview window....

HERE'S HOW TO QUICKLY HEAR YOUR PROJECT:
In Finder,
1. single click to highlight the .BAND file name,
2. right click on it,
3. select Quick Look --- and

Not only will you see what your .BAND file window looks like (the iLIFE preview),
but Quick Look will PLAY your project.... even a huge project with many tracks.
THERE'S ONE CONDITION --- You must have had "bounced" the project (In GarageBand: "Send Song to iTunes") in order to hear the associated .MP3 file when you click on Quick Look.
This is far faster than waiting to open the project! Cool!
May you find MUCH joy in using and finding shortcuts to efficiently record your music!
©2012 DianaDee Osborne
www.DianaDeeOsborneSongs.com
www.DiDoReflections.com (Die to Self, Do for Christ,
Reflect God, all with the help of the Holy Spirit)

Friday, May 25, 2012

Fixing MIDI Notes that Sound "Off Key"

The Recording Problem:
It's hard to believe but yes--- a MIDI note that is exactly right, "on key", CAN sound off-key. Here is why, and here are two easy ways to fix the problem quickly.
The WHY:
Think about how a guitar string sounds when plucked: If the string is perfectly tuned, it sounds perfect when you first pluck it and a tuner confirms that the note is on key. However, within seconds, the tuner needle indicates that the note is going off-key. The same happens with wind instruments: As sax and flute players --or a singer's vocal cords-- lose air, the sustained note becomes weaker and begins to drift off key.
----- Likewise, a MIDI note can have an apparent (not scientifically real) change to the human ear that "sounds off." There's some biological reason that doesn't matter.... You can fix it :)
How to fix your MIDI note:
Let us assume your track is for flute or sax.... these lead instruments often have a sustained note that sounds great at first but quickly irritates.
1. Easiest fix: Lower the volume of that single sustained note to be below the shorter notes before and after it. This creates a blend so that the human ear doesn't notice that specific sustain so much.
2. Professional fix: Pull up your Volume control and add 1 automation volume point at the beginning of the long-sustained note, and 2 points at the end. Slightly lower the 2nd point (the 3rd point puts the volume back before the next note).
3. Really professional fix: Get a recording program with instruments that can re-create the natural wavering of wind instruments.

This blog is for the home studio preparation of music to be published or taken to a professional studio, so Fix #3 is more expensive than most of us can do. Fixes 2 and 3 provide a very nice alternative. Much joy to you in finding work-arounds to fix those tiny little glitches most people wouldn't have noticed... and Congratulations on your music skills in hearing when a MIDI note sounds a bit "off"!
©2012 DianaDee Osborne

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Bad Moods To Great Songs

Have you ever had "one of those days"?
Since you're reading this, you're human. Since you're human, yup you've had one of 'em. We all do.

Once I went to the glass recycling truck-container in our area, and two women were there with a huge box of glass items. Each took turns flinging a bottle or jar as hard as she could against the interior metal wall of the container. The resulting crash was pretty impressive after each throw.

And I often laughingly think of that, whenever I sit with either my guitar or keyboard on a bad day and start pounding out "whatever" music.... no special place that I'm going, just as the women weren't aiming at a specific spot with their glass. Since I'm pounding random chord progressions, there's no "right" or "wrong." I can just enjoy the impressive crashing music that comes after each hit.

When you're having a really bad day, try this! 
Even better, RECORD it - WITH a slow metronome setting--
1. Create a project titled something like "Untitled 4-4 Em" (In minor keys, EVERY one of the 12 scale notes works Except the 3rd - which turns it to major. And 4-4 time gives you lots of pounding drum loop possibilities if you don't go add your own live track.)
2. Play anything with the metronome set to something like 70... if you're not "right on" this won't matter, but the "fence" will help you create some pretty dramatic music after Step 4.
3. After you've pounded out a recording, hit the stop button. Then hit Record again and do another region on the same track. And repeat. If desired, duplicate this track and mute this one, then repeat step 3 on a new track.

Later when you've mellowed out a bit,
4. Go into the Notation View, highlight one or more music notes, then do a Select-All, and quantize all notes to 1/8th notes.  (See previous blogs for method tricks, if needed.)
5- This isn't really a step:   
 **DO NOT** go to fix the "odd" notes. Listen on different days to the results -- you may find that you love the weird timings, the unintended 'grace' notes.

6. Later you can decide which recorded regions you don't really like, and delete them.
7. And for those you do like, you can play a C "instrument" against the track in MIDI; I like flute, which I might later change to tenor sax for more drama.
8. If you want to add a melody, just play "anything" and later you can change the MIDI notes to fit the lyrics you decided upon. Both flute and a single clean guitar MIDI tracks give a nice melody contrast to the pounding supporting music.

9. Most of all, remember: It's called "PLAY music"!

Much joy to you in pounding out those Bad Mood Days. You just might get some fantastic songs out of your Play:_
©2012 DianaDee Osborne

Sunday, November 6, 2011

Why Doesn't Midi Instrument Hit on the Beat?

Let's say you've quantized your MIDI instrument such as violin synth or bass synth.
That is, you've selected notes, gone into the GarageBand SCORE region, and selected
Auto Align to
for all the quarter and eight notes.... but the instrument sometimes still is not "hitting" on Count 1 of the measure. Why not? How do you fix this?
There's a huge chance that your MIDI notes are too long.
1. Go into the Piano Roll view of the notation section.
2. Look at MIDI notes near the end of each measure. Are some of them so long that they cross into the next measure?
3. If so, it's an easy fix: Just shorten the long notes so they don't cross the measure bar.
NOTE: This doesn't matter so much for other counts. The ear doesn't really notice those so much.
REASON for the problem: The last MIDI note of a measure will usually continue to be heard if it extends into the next measure... and the note which you had quantized for count 1 of the next measure often can't be heard in time.
Much peace to you in the regular beats....
©2018, 2011 DianaDee Osborne

Updated version published 20 April 2018

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Easy Flute and Sax Synth Hints

Synth flute and sax played on a keyboard (controller) obviously will not sound "real" to flute and sax players... but these easy hints help you get closer.
1. Remember that wind instrument players have to breathe!
Deliberately add breaks, even if they're short. Think of where *you* would have to breathe if you were actually playing the instrument. Logical places for songs with words are at the ends of sentences or phrases.
2. Don't accidentally create di-tones or chords.
That is, go into the "Piano Roll" (notation) section and ensure that the MIDI notes barely touch into each other. You don't want 2 or 3 MIDI notes in the same space for wind synth instruments. In fact, staccato (very short MIDI notes) such as for flute especially gives a playful or joyful sound. (Actual violins are played with one note blending more into the other, so the MIDI notes can overlap a little... not too much.)
If you look at the MIDI notes and see overlap,
you can often do a better edit shortening those notes if your first go to CONTROL (in GarageBand) and turn OFF "Snap to Grid". That enables you to have quarter notes that smoothly extend a bit into the next quarter notes but without the di-tone of 2 full notes being played simultaneously.
3. If there's a "muddy" sound or the meter is running 'hot,'
even after you shortened the note lengths, check (in GB) the "brighteness" of the green MIDI note to see if you accidentally played some notes louder than others. If so, select those notes, go to Velocity, and lower the volume number.
4. "Quantize" notes easily (so they hit on the metronome count):
a. In the SCORE section, highlight one note, go to Edit > Select All.
b. Go to Align To (under the Piano Roll button) and select 1/8 Note.
That gives a quick quantizing.
c. Then in the SCORE section, highlight all actual 1/4 notes PLUS the first note of a pair of 1/8th notes. Go to Align To and select 1/4 note.
d. Check the MIDI section... for faster music, some of the notes will be one above the other after quantizing. Turn ON "Snap To Grid" and then slide the 2nd note over to be in its place.
Much Joy to you experimenting with "playing" wind instruments more realistically!
©2018, 2011 DianaDee Osborne

An updated version published 17 April 2018.

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Out-of-Phase Drum Loops in GarageBand

Here's a fun experiment to create a "thick" grungy sound for different drum mood:
1. Create a standard MIDI drum loop, anything you like. Not TOO busy is best while experimenting. The "out of phase" will add a lot of double-hits.
2. Copy as many loops as you like; then ensure the first region begins at the very first count. (Just drag the front to count 1, adding empty space in the region, if needed.)
3. Go to Track >Duplicate Track and create another drum track.
4. By now you've probably noticed that the "Duplicate Track" command in GarageBand doesn't do what the command does in some other programs... you get an empty track! So copy your populated drum regions onto the track.
5. Hit "home" to place the marker on the very first count.
6. Paste the copy of the drum track on the new 2nd track.
Here's where the fun comes!
7. IMPORTANT: Turn OFF Snap To Grid (under Control).
8. Open the region editor of the 2nd, duplicated drum track.
9. Grab the 2nd track and very slightly drag it about 1/16th or at most 1/8th of a count into the first measure.
The result? You get an "off kilter" or "out of phase" sound
when you play the drum tracks together. Add a grungy guitar and heavy bass to begin a power packed new song.
Much joy in Experimenting with Music!
©2018, 2011 DianaDee Osborne

An updated version published 13 April 2018

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

SPLITTING GARAGEBAND PROBLEMS, Fix 2-3-4--

"Why won't that stupid track split right?" was my Aug 10 blog hint... this is "part 2." Let's say you've auto-aligned ("quantized") every note around where you want to split the track. (See August for hints there, too). Yet every time you try to split the track, you get a 1/32nd note or worse on one side of the split. It feels like the thing is bragging "eewww, you were SO close, tough luck!"
Here's how to "win" when GarageBand is stubborn.
1. Be sure you've selected Control > Snap to Grid. Then try again.
If that doesn't work?
2. Put the red place marker right on top of the note flag of the "after" measure. Somehow GB thinks the tiny bit of space in front means you want that space in the earlier region when you do the split.
If that doesn't work? Hey, I've tried a lot... usually something does!
3. If this is a PIANO track where you used the sustain pedal, then this is probably "The" hint for you:
When you quantize, you **must include the Ped. marks below the bottom staff.** Except perhaps to some music-purist, that really doesn't change the sound. But it (1) makes your printed score look more professional, and (2) cures a lot of track-splitting problems.
Finally -- and this is where you really "win" the battle:

If nothing else works,
go to the first chord in the measure
that you want to be Measure 1 of the 2nd region after your split is done.
1. Again quantize all of that chord "just to be sure" -- including the Ped. mark if there.
2. Go to Control > Snap to Grid and be sure it is OFF.
3. Select all the notes in the chord. Be sure to catch all -- some piano notes are widespread in chords.
4. Go to Piano Roll in the Notation View. The selected notes are a different color.
5. Move the entire set of notes slightly to the right.
6. Do the split again, and check the Score view of the notation. There shouldn't be any 1/32nd notes ending Region 1 this time.
7. Re-select that chord. Auto-align to 1/4 notes (no matter what kind of notes they are or what your signature type is).
You should now have two neatly split tracks, despite GarageBand's challenges.
Much joy to you in winning the little battles of life and music!
©2018, 20111 DianaDee Osborne

Friday, September 2, 2011

Aligning Imported MP3's Easily in GarageBand

Have you ever dragged an MP3 file into your GB project to create a new track? That's a great way to add flute or "atmosphere" or other enhancements to an older version of one of your songs if you don't have a BAND file for it.

What often happens, though, is a struggle to make it align with your GB click track. Here are a couple of easy hints to try before you fret too much over the attempt:

1. First, you'll probably need some space in front of the MP3 track. So slide the track to the right to add at least one measure of room.
2. Turn OFF the Snap to Grid feature (under Control menu item).
3. Now play the metronome with the track and keep sliding the imported MP3 region until it's as close as possible to the first count of the music hitting the first count of GB's metronome (also under Control).

4. If it still is not quite "on" but you're having trouble hearing where count one comes in to match the MP3 and metronome, here's a cool hint:
--a-- Open the Notation View (the "snowflake" at the bottom left).
--b-- Click on the new MP3 track's NAME to select it. The WAV files of the MP3 will now be showing in the Notation view.
--c-- WithOUT the metronome on, play the MP3 track solo, and watch the peaks. After a bit of time, you should be able to hear the timing of the music's first counts and slide the track until the peak in the WAV file matches count 1,

This doesn't always work, but it usually does or gets you much closer before trying something else.

STEP 5 finally: You have to get rid of that space in front of the audio track if you want to clean up your project. There are two main ways:

(1) split the region on a count 1 just before the music starts, delete the unnecessary front region, and slide the 2nd region to the front of the track. Ensure that Count 1 of the track lands with Count 1 of the metronome... usually a bigger WAV peak there.

(2) Solo the audio track and send it to iTunes, bounce it, or whatever. Then bring back the now-filled-in full track with the extra front space into your project. Delete the old audio after you ensure everything is working right.
Much joy in expanding your music realms!
©2018, 2011 DianaDee Osborne

Updated Version published 23 March 2018.

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Easy Counter-Melodies in GarageBand

One of the annoying features of GarageBand and some other software recording programs is that you can see the Notation View (the music notes on the staff) of only one track at a time. So if you want to add a synth bassline or a simple counter-melody in flute or sax, for example, you must either hope you've memorized the chord progression, or you must waste paper printing a multi-page music score you need for only a few minutes.

Easy fix:
1. Select by highlighting the track name of the track that is your main instrument (already recorded); for me it is usually grand Piano. In this case, if you select just a note within the notation view, this hint also works.
2. Select File > Print.... but don't print.
3. Click on Preview and then slide the preview window over to the side where you can see both it and the GarageBand main window.
4. Click on the new track where you want to record the counter-melody or bass (etc.) track, and begin recording, using the Preview window as your guide.

This is obviously a simple hint... but I printed out a fair number of sheets that I then discarded before I realized I could easily play from the Preview window.
Much joy in finding 'shortcuts' in music!
©2018, 2011 DianaDee Osborne

Updated version published  16 March 2018

Saturday, August 20, 2011

Extending Live Guitar Decay Time (easy)

When you tune your guitar, your hit of the string ("attack") sets the tuner's needle "right on" when the string is in tune. But you notice that needle hold for a few seconds and then slowly drift downward as the sound dies out, called "decay".

It's easy to control decay length with guitar pedals or even amp settings. But we often record live guitar straight into the computer as a "clean" guitar, to give us full control for later changes.

Here's an easy way to lengthen your final live guitar note (or notes) even in a clean recording:
1. Leave yourself "headroom" on your guitar to move the volume knob upward.
2. After you hit the final note, as the note's sound begins to decay, gradually turn your volume knob up until the note is as long as you want.
3. Then just lower the volume control knob at whatever speed gives you the sound you want.

That's all there is to it... an easy way to let your guitar "cry" or "scream" or whatever much longer than the note(s) would last with a single hit and nothing else.
Much joy in making your guitar sing... or scream:)
©2018, 2011 DianaDee Osborne

An updated version published 27 February 2018/

Saturday, August 13, 2011

WHY SPLIT? Hint for Perfect region copying

This hint works for any studio recording, not just Garageband-- an easy way to "know where you are" when you copy a region to another place on that track where the music of other tracks is the same. Such as, when you decide after finishing a song to add one region of your violin track to go with another verse.

An earlier hint shows how keeping regions on a track separate comes in handy when you later decide to add a verse (e.g.). This goes one step further: When your regions do not all nicely begin on the same measure, so you can't just "copy down" all the regions in a section, copy them, and paste them elsewhere.
I discovered this EASY hint while adding two more interlude sections to "Desperate Prayer" (www.DiDoReflections.com -- free download to check for the example) ... that was not going to be an easy addition because the violin track had multiple regions which bridged from one region to the next of every other track (such as beginning several measures ahead of piano and flute).

This hint works ok for WAV tracks (audio of any type) but it's easier in MIDI; and it assumes you've followed an earlier hint -- aligned (quantizied) notes before and after an area to split.

As always, save your project before doing any major changes so you can easily do a File > Revert to Saved if needed.
1. Put your red place marker right at the beginning of the main region; for me, it was where the piano interlude had just ended and a verse was starting. Check your Score to be sure you're not one count off.
2. Select (turns dark green in GarageBand) the region you want to copy that bridges on both sides of that marker (which, yes, has a professional name I'll skip). For me: violin.
3. Select Edit > Split (remembering that the track name must be selected/ green in GB).
4. Select the two pieces now of that region, and do an Edit > Copy. Notice that the split is right at the red marker, at the beginning of your main region (my Piano verse #2 region).
5. Now put the red marker at the corresponding place of the main track's other main region (my Piano verse #4 region)
6. Ensure the correct track name is highlighted (mine: violin). Selected Edit> Paste.
7. Test first, through the end. Then select the separate 2 pieces of your newly pasted region and do Edit > Join. Do the same for the 2 pieces of the region which you had copied.

The new regions now will fit perfectly with the rest of the music including on your main track. An easier copy than trying to match up measures for a track that goes across multiple regions of other tracks. Much joy in music to you! ©2018, 2011 DianaDee Osborne

Updated version published  30 January 2018

Thursday, August 11, 2011

WHY SPLIT a TRACK?

This hint works for any recording program: WHY would you want to split a track? Many guides tell you that you CAN but don't mention the advantages.
Three good reasons for splitting:
1
If you have created a music introduction and then a section that will be repeated (like Verse 1 and Verse 2), it is useful to split the track after the intro. Then you can easily copy the remaining track section through the end of verse 1 over and over until all verses are there.
HINT: Ensure the red marker bumps right up to the end of the previous section... it's easier to see this if you widen the view to make the notes larger in Score mode.
2
Seeing the splits also gives you visual info, to see where each verse actually is, in case you start layering in flute and other pieces that belong in a specific place within each verse.
3
If your kits (drum) track is more than one single sound, you might have a number of tracks kept separate so you can keep control over volume balance. As you develop the different drum segments, it's useful to see where they fit on your main track's region... especially if that region is split to show you where each music movement begins and ends. Not only does this make copying a piece easier, but you can also quickly compare MIDI notes to ensure you've copied to the right place.
Much joy in your music days! ©2018, 2011 DianaDee Osborne

Reprinted 30 January 2018

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Ghost GarageBand Notes

Let's say you have a synth flute track that sounds pretty good except one note... and no matter how much you try to align it to a quarter note or whatever, it still sounds muddy or "thicker" than all the other notes. You've looked at the MIDI track and don't see anything different about that note. And you've checked that a same or conflicting note before it is not too long and still playing when this one begins.

GarageBand has this quirky thing... if you select a note and copy it, but forget to move your red marker to the place you want the new note before you habitually press the apple-V shortcut to copy it, GB pastes the new note right on top of the old note. So there's a possibility that you have a hidden note behind the MIDI note you see. I call this a "ghost" note. No idea what the proper word is, but hey, this describes it well.

To check to see if this is the problem, in your MIDI track's Piano Roll (shown after hitting the "snowflake" in the bottom left corner):
1. Select the problem note and drag it upward or downward.
If there's a "ghost" note, you'll see that copy still in the place from which you just moved your note.
2. If yes, there's a "ghost" -- just delete the note you just moved.
3. If no, there's no "ghost" and you need to keep investigating, just do an
Edit > Undo change position of note (or the more common apple-Z shortcut).
Then you're back where you started from but have ruled out a common-enough cause of muddy notes.

©2018, 2011 DianaDee Osborne;  all publication rights reserved
Reprinted 19 January 2018

Tuesday, August 2, 2011

DianaDee Easy FLUTE TRILLS (etc!)

Flute trills are fun in GarageBand. And of course, the same applies for any instrument, including piano and sax, where you want a nice even timing to make your trill sound professional.

Definition: a TRILL starts at the root note of your chord (R), goes up to the next note in the chord scale (+1 in the scale, often 2 half steps), returns to the root, goes down to the next note below (minus 1), and ends on the root. [You can choose to go down first.] You can repeat the pattern as long as you'd like. Example:
R... +1... R... -1... R.. +1... R.. -1.. R

TIMING is usually 4 per count, such as 1-e-and-ah-2 for the above trill. Hint: You can easily slow the recording time by changing the tempo down, then just return it to the correct tempo after you finish Step 1.

1. Just go into your instrument track and hit Record (or R).
2. Play the trill as described above for the length you want, ending on the Root note. Note that instrument players often give a slight accent (harder hit) the the first and 5th notes plus a bit of an accent to the 3rd note. In the MIDI track, a harder hit note is a brighter green.
3. After you end the recording, listen to see if your trill is "close." If so, hit Save.
4. If you haven't already done so, hit the "snowflake" and then select Piano Roll.
5. Go to your MIDI notes (squares) for the trill. If any note overlaps the space of the next note, you need to shorten it to stay in its own space, so that each block is approximately the same (short) length. (Click on MIDI note so it turns green, go to end of note and click til you get straight line - not arrow- drag note to left to shorten. HINT: If it won't shorten a small amount, go to Control and click on Snap to Grid to turn that off).
6. Select (highlight) each note in the trill. Note the pattern -- you may need to remember it in Step 8.
7. In the Align to box, select 1/8 Note. You'll probably see the MIDI notes move a bit until evenly spaced... but some might be one above another.
8. Go back to Control and ensure that Snap to Grid is now ON.
9. Now just slide any note that's in the wrong place over an 1/8th count, to match the pattern you observed in Step 6.

That's it.... easy trills that sound professional! Don't forget to change your tempo back if you lowered it:) Much joy in music to you!
- ©2018, 2011 DianaDee Osborne

Reprinted 12 January 2018